Basic Information

Argentina officially is known as the Argentine Republic. It is located in South America, the continents second largest by land area, after Brazil.

Buenos Aires it is the autonomous city and the country is constituted by 23 provinces. Argentina has six main regions: Gran Chaco, Mesopotamia, the Pampas, Patagonia, Cuyo and the Norwest.

Argentina has 40 million inhabitants and the total surface is 2,780,400 km2. It is the eighth-largest country in the world by land area and the largest among Spanish-speaking nations.

In terms of the clime, the north is characterized by hot, humid summers and mild dry winters. On the other hand, the southern regions have warm summers and cold winters with heavy snowfall, especially in mountainous zones.

The Constitution guarantees freedoms of religion, however 92,1% of Argentines are Christians.

The official language of Argentina is Spanish with a different accent from the rest of Spanish speaker countries.

Argentina is a constitutional republic and representative democracy and the current president is Cristina Fernández de Kirchner.

In Argentinean arts, architecture and lifestyle we can find European influences everywhere.Argentina is an important cultural country.

In the music area two typical styles are found, the Tango and Folklore, representing two different regions. The tango has become country's music symbol abroad.